We all block people sometimes. However, can you text someone after you’ve blocked them? Let’s find out.
Whether you still need to communicate with that person or you simply feel guilty about blocking them, it’s important to know if you can still correspond with them in some capacity.
Here’s the short answer:
You can still text someone even after you’ve blocked them. However, you won’t be able to see their messages in response. To fully communicate with that person, you’ll have to unblock them at some point in the future.
However, there’s much more to it than that – so make sure you stick around as we delve into this subject further.
What is Blocking?
To put it simply, blocking is the act of severing ties with someone on a digital platform. It can be done for a variety of reasons such as bullying, offensive messages, spam, or unwanted sexual conversation.
The person you’ve blocked won’t be able to send you messages, and any they do send will be pending in the chat until you decide to unblock them.
Messages from the blocked person will not be sent to your phone but will be marked as ”delivered” on theirs. This is to ensure their messages, calls, or photos are not sent to your device.
Why Would I Need to Block Someone?
This is entirely up to you, but the most common reasons for blocking someone are as follows:
- Unwanted messages, photos, or videos
- Aggressive sales messages (such as MLM pitches or sales content)
- Spam (if the account in question is a bot or has been hacked by one)
- Annoying or infuriating messages
- Threatening messages towards you or your loved ones – or both
Though those are the most common reasons, deciding to block someone depends entirely on you. If you wish to remove a person from your life, for whatever reason, then it’s a good idea to block them so they cannot interfere with you in any way.
Blocking can be seen as a big deal and can upset the person, but sometimes it’s necessary.
Can A Person I Blocked Still Contact Me?
Though the blocked person won’t be able to contact you on the platform you blocked them on; there’s nothing stopping them from reaching out on another platform to contact you.
For example, if you’ve blocked someone on Facebook, then they can still contact you on platforms such as WhatsApp, Kik, Twitter, on Instagram.
If you’re serious about fully removing the person from your life, then you’ll have to block them on every platform they can contact you on.
Will the Person I Blocked be Notified if I Unblock Them?
If you choose to unblock the person, they will not receive a push notification telling them they can contact you again. However, the chat window will not display the ”you cannot reply to this conversation” banner anymore.
If the person chooses to view the chat window, they can see that they are now able to contact you. However, they won’t receive any direct notification on their phone.
Can You Text Someone You Blocked on iPhone?
Texting someone you’ve blocked is the same regardless of the brand of phone you have. Whether you have an iPhone or Android, the outcome is always the same.
As stated above, you can still text the person in question, but they will not be able to respond to you in any way, shape, or form as long as they’re still blocked.
How to Block Someone on iPhone
Blocking may sound tricky, but it’s incredibly easy to do no matter what phone you have. For iPhone users, blocking a contact only takes a couple of seconds, and the person (or people) you’ve decided to block won’t be notified.
To block a number on iMessage, simply open the chat, click on the person’s name, and hit the ‘i’ button. This will reveal a drop-down number where the ‘block contact’ option can be seen.
Unlike Facebook Messenger, there will be no ”you cannot reply to this conversation banner” on iMessage, meaning that you can block this individual rather discreetly.
How to Block Someone on Facebook
Blocking someone on Facebook takes no effort at all. Again, you must open the chat window, click on the ‘chat settings’ button and select the block option from the menu.
They will not be notified of the blockage, but they will be aware that they cannot reply to this conversation if they view the chat window. However, they will not receive a direct notification from Facebook telling them that they have been blocked.
What Happens to Blocked Messages?
Blocked messages, photos, videos, or voice notes are delivered but not sent to your phone. Therefore, the sent content ends up in digital purgatory between their phone and yours.
Can I Retrieve Blocked Messages?
It is not possible to receive blocked messages on any platform. This is because the blocked content never actually reaches your phone.
Should you choose to unblock this person in the future, then any content they’ve attempted to share with you won’t appear in future conversations. Blocked content can still be retrieved from servers, so keep this in mind if you’re being sent illegal messages.
Should you choose to contact the authorities, the blocked messages will be able to be retrieved as used as evidence should you choose to press charges and the content is deemed severe enough to have broken the law.
You can text someone you’ve blocked, but doing so is pointless and the blocked person will not be able to respond. In fact, they can see all content you’ve shared with them unless they choose to block you in response.
Blocking may seem like a harsh move, but it is required sometimes if someone has crossed a line and is making you upset or angry. We’ve all blocked people from time to time, so don’t feel too bad about doing so if the action is truly needed.